Dr Philippa Borrill

Group Leader

Department of Crop Genetics
John Innes Centre
Norwich Research Park

Email / Google scholar / Twitter


Emilie Knight – Research Assistant

Marek Glombik – Postdoctoral Researcher

Sam Burrows – Research Assistant

PhD students

Muhammad Waqas Ali – Commonwealth Scholar

Catherine Evans – MIBTP CASE student with RAGT Seeds Ltd

James Milson – MIBTP CASE student with KWS Ltd

Delfi Dorussen – NRPDTP student

Miles Curl – NRPDTP CASE student with RAGT Seeds Ltd, KWS Ltd and Limagrain Ltd

Masters and undergraduate students

Buddhini Kiriwaththuduwa – MSc Plant Genetics and Crop Improvement (2022-2023)

Heidi Town – MSc Plant Genetics and Crop Improvement (2022-2023)

Lab timeline

Former lab members

  • Daniel Heath – MSc Plant Genetics and Crop Improvement (2021-2022)
  • Gaia Galiberti – Undergraduate summer student (2022)
  • Robbie Koh Chi Bin – Undergraduate summer student (2022)
  • Sophie Mogg – Research Technician (2021-2022)
  • Tayyaba Andleeb – Split-Site Commonwealth Scholar (2021-2022)
  • Arunkumar Ramesh – Postdoctoral Researcher (2021-2022)
  • Mahnoor Altaf – MSc Microbiology and Infection (dissertation project 2021)
  • Eve Briscoe, BSc Biochemistry (dissertation project, 2020-2021)
  • Grace Bale, MSci Biological Sciences (dissertation project, 2020-2021)
  • Heyang Li, MSc Molecular Biotechnology (dissertation project 2020)
  • Katie Hawkins, Undergraduate summer project student 2020, sponsored by the Rank Prize Funds
  • Ben Fisher, MSci Biochemistry (dissertation project, 2019-2020)
  • James Milson, BSc Biochemistry (dissertation project, 2019-2020)
  • Tianyuan Xu (Ryan), MRes Molecular and Cellular Biology (dissertation project, 2019-2020)
  • Nikita Mannar Chinna Durai, MSc Molecular Biotechnology (dissertation project, 2019-2020)
  • Sophie Hawkes, Technician, 2019
  • Zhitong Zeng, MSc Molecular Biotechnology (dissertation project 2019)
  • Isabel Keene, Undergraduate summer project student 2019, sponsored by the Rank Prize Funds